Francesco Venturini


​The Concerti of the violinist-composer Francesco Venturini (c.1675 – 1745) are a real discovery – melodious, virtuosic, elegant and dance-like, combining Italian and French stylistic elements to form a "mixed taste", as Telemann described this mélange. Inspired by the pulsating cultural and intellectual life at the Hanoverian court, Venturini wrote ambitious orches­tral music full of joie de vivre, defined by numerous concertato passages for both wind and string instruments.

His works feature a rich diversity of – sometimes unusual – colours: as his concerto soloists, he chooses not only combinations of one or two oboes, recorders and violins, but also two bassoons and two cellos, or even an oboe, two recorders and violin - the latter being a combination reminiscent of JS Bach's Brandenburg Concertos which were to be written a few years later.

16,00 €

Plus shipping
Mailorder / Order form

Video on YouTube

Download PDF [4.5 MB]

℗ & © 2021 Coproduction audite / Radio Bremen, LC 04480, Order number 97.775, EAN 4022143977755, Release date February 5, 2021